1661715_10152341052469871_8419702490613379664_nGrowing up here in Charlotte, I knew who Jim and Tammy Baker were.  I knew their empire was just down the road from us, I saw them in the more affluent malls in Charlotte, their son Jay and his older sister sometimes hung out at some of the same parties me and  all my punk rock friends frequented. So I saw their extravagant lifestyle, I knew the score on them. I also knew of Jerry fallwell, Jimmy Swaggart & Pat Robertson, always telling us we were going to hell unless we gave them money, and I knew, I just knew they were all lying thieving hypocrites who wanted nothing more than to fleece the ignorant , making them part from their hard earned meager cash, and I hated them for it. I really did, and I wanted to see them all fall from their lofty perches. I was mad at God too, for letting them steal from the faithful, and maybe I hated God a little too. But I knew, I always knew, Pope John Paul II was a good man. I always knew he truly cared about the world and the people in it, and I always had -and always will- a special place in my heart for him. he was at the core of my first real experiences with the Catholic church, and I cant help but think his influence in my life has led me to where I am today. So I am really happy to see he is being canonized this weekend.

~ by keystone28 on 04/27/2014.

Leave a Reply

 
