Wrath…..Epic Fail.

* “You have heard that it was said,x ‘An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.’

39y But I say to you, offer no resistance to one who is evil. When someone strikes you on (your) right cheek, turn the other one to him as well.”

I should have remembered that this past Saturday. Ever have someone just insult you so badly that you want to hit them? I have, on numerous occasions. I used to be a bouncer, so it comes with the territory. I have been called some of the foulest things you can imagine, and taken it all in stride, but all it took was come kid calling me one little name to throw me over the edge the other day.

He was mad at me. Mad, because I would not let him use a woman’s debit card to pay for the fliers he was printing for an X-rated nightclub event he was promoting. The last name didn’t even match his, and it was nothing personal, strictly a rule the College -and the state- expect us to adhere to. I don’t like dealing with these sleazy club guys, but were expected to serve everyone, so I keep my opinions about their trade to myself mostly,save for venting every now and then to my boss about non-payment and run-ins like this.

How bad of a Catholic am I?!? 10 & 1/2 hours before Palm Sunday, and I’m giving serious consideration jumping over the counter and pounding someones head because he said something disparaging about me. I was in the right, I had no reason to feel offended, yet there I was,  madder than a hornet. In my defense, I did not curse at him, nor did I threaten him with anything more than having the Police remove him from Campus (These guys don’t go to College here, they just figured out we have the cheapest color copies in town, so they come here).

I guess my question is, how do I get to that point? How do I reach that lofty, desirable plateau where turning the other cheek becomes so easy? Because I’m obviously no there yet!

~ by keystone28 on 04/05/2012.

2 Responses to “Wrath…..Epic Fail.”

  1. Just remember, Jesus turned over the tables in the Temple…calm is not always possible.

  2. Just remember, Jesus turned over the tables in the Temple. Calm isn’t always possible. None of us is there yet.

Leave a Reply

 
