Where have all the good podcasts gone?

Today were going to talk podcasts…If you’re like me, you don’t like a whole lot of fluff in your podcasts. There are all sorts of podcasts out there that give you all the bells and whistles of a happy married couple telling you how they live their lives,but do you really want diabetes THAT badly? Then there are the podcasts that have the seemingly endless stream of listener comments from a bad skype connection that make you wish for a strand of root canals. Let’s face it folks, when it comes to podcasts, do we Catholics really have a plethora of good choices? The short answer is yes, yes we do, but you have to go looking for them.

 

I ‘d like to present three of them here for you to peruse at your leisure. These can all be found on line (I’ve included links to the websites for you) and on itunes. First off, we have “Homilies of Fr. Paul Yi“. I know, I know, part of you is cringing right now at the thopught of homilies outside of mass, or you are recalling a certain someone filled with goodwill and a wonderful heart who just lacks that certain “oomph” to keep you rapt with attention throughout church, but fear not! Such is not the case with Fr.Paul! I had a chance to see & hear Fr. Paul on Easter Sunday last year at Our Lady of Mercy in Baton Rouge, and I have to say it was probably one of the best -if not THE best- Homilies I have ever heard. Imagine my joy when I discovered that his weekly homilies are now available on it tunes! Fr. Paul has a way of engaging his audience, and keeping their attention without going over the top. Moreover, his voice is so reassuring, that you’ll find yourself slightly disappointed when the podcast is over. This is his Homily, plain and simple, nothing else, so there really isn’t much more to say than go give him a listen, you will not be sorry!

As long as were discussing homilies, let me go ahead and mention another -a little more well known perhaps- one you can find on itunes as well. This one is is by Fr. Larry Richards, entitled “The Reason for Our Hope“. Fr. Larry is just as engaging, just as entertaining as Fr. Paul, but I feel as if he goes in the opposite direction. Much like his book ” Be a Man! Becoming the Man God Created You to Be“, Fr.Larry pulls no punches, and sugar coats nothing. He simply tells you how it is, and you know what? He’s right! Again, this is a Homily, nothing more, nothing less, and it, along with Fr.Paul’s, is truly worthy of your time. We’ve all sat through the well meant homily that is like a recitation of a quantum mechanics manual, so do yourself a favor and listen to a homily that will never fail to keep you rapt with attention, filled with anticipation and filled with the good word.

 

Finally, we come to what ius probably the most unique of all Catholic podcasts, “Catholic Underground“; Despite the name, this has nothing do with  the Catholic Underground of The Franciscan Friars of the Renewal. No, this Catholic Underground (henceforth referred to as CU) is a little farther below the Mason Dixon line than the good Friars. Abbeville, Louisiana, to be exact. I know, I know, Fr. Paul, the CU podcats, it seems as if I have a penchant for all thing Louisiana…..Well I do, but that’s not why I chose CU for my final entry today!

No, I chose them because quite honestly, they have the most entertaining Catholic podcast I have ever heard. It’s witty, humorous,educational and absolutely captivating. They do not suffer from the “Grandma tape syndrome” that so many podcasts seem to be afflicted with. Know what I’m talking about when I say “Grandma tapes”?? Well, when I was a little kid, we’d make these cassette tapes for my grandparents who lived in Philly. We’d tell them everything that was going on in our lives, and then we’d send them the tapes through the mail system. Once they had listened to them, my Grandparents would do the same for us, and that’s pretty much how we talked to each other when I was young.

I have noticed in sorting through Catholic podcasts, that alot of them suffer from “Grandma’s Tapes Syndrome”; they drone on and on about stuff that they seem to think is important, but it doesn’t really translate as such to the listener. But you listen anyway, not wanting to seem unkind, but in your mind, you are really thinking that it is a chore to listen to them. CU has avoided this syndrome altogether by splitting their podcasts up into segments. I cant really do them justice with a description, so I stole the following from their website: “Following the success of several podcasts aimed at presenting weekly technology news and podcasts covering life in the Catholic sphere, the members of catholicunderground.com began to formulate a podcast that speaks to both Vatican II and Pope John Paul the Great’s call for those in media to responsibly and courageously bring technology to the transmission of the Gospel. The blogs and podcasts contained in these pages hope to have that goal within every click; that’s why catholicunderground.com really is faith gone digital.”.

They are worth every moment of your time. To make it even better, they (Fr. Ryan, Fr.Chris, Daniel and Joshua) offer the weekly podcast live on their site via CU TV, and invite listeners to chime in via their chat room. Again, I cant say enough good things, and I invite you to try them out!

~ by keystone28 on 03/20/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
