What’s wrong is wrong…..Right?

So I was talking with a coworker the other day; I was asked if I had seen “True Grit” yet. The John Wayne movie? Sure, it’s great! No, the new one, have you seen it yet? No, I replied, but I wanted to, because Jeff Bridges is one of my favorite actors ( I love “Big Lebowski”). “Oh, I saw it last night!” I was told. How’d you do that? I thought you worked last night? “Oh, I did, but I watched it on this website that has all the newest movies on it for free!”

 

Am I being too severe, or do y’all recognize this as stealing? You go to a free site, to watch first run, still in the theater movies, filmed by some guy holding up a camcorder to the screen….That’s stealing, right? How do we rationalize things like this and make them ok? Free movies? Well who is it really hurting anyway? The Movie producers still make a ton of money, right?  The  keeping the wrong change at a store, well that’s the clerks fault for not paying attention! Bit torrent Plants Vs. Zombies?  If I have the smarts to figure it out, why not?

 

All these things, all these excuses people give themselves for why they deserve free stuff, they’re just lies! They lie to make themselves fel better about the fact they are taking from someone else. I’m not saying I’m holier than thou, in fact I am guilty of doing the same thing alot of times, I just actually came to the realization that it was wrong.

~ by keystone28 on 02/05/2011.

3 Responses to “What’s wrong is wrong…..Right?”

  1. You’re absolutely right. That IS stealing. I guess with a coworker you could approach it as a question; you are puzzled: “Don’t you think that’s stealing, to watch a bootleg movie?” It could open up a good conversation, or at the very least give food for thought.
    It’s the kind of thing that I always feel is best addressed in my home, through example. If we get the wrong change at the store, we make it right. We hope our kids are with us and see us do that. It’s one of those “do as I do” moments with our kids. With all the technology available now, we have to show them that it’s stealing to download music we didn’t pay for, or watch bootleg movies, or lie about our name or address to get an extra “freebie” from that website.

  2. Although I do admit that, to a point, I’m only playing Devil’s Advocate, there are a few fuzzy areas in the realm of ultra-modern right, wrong, and rule-following. Take, for instance, the issue of sneaking food into movie theaters that have signs on the door saying “No Outside Food or Drinks.” Is that wrong? Is it an unjustifiable rationalization to point out that the popcorn, candy, and soda they sell are vastly overpriced (or, to use a buzzword, ripoffs)? Are we cheating the movie theater by loading up our purses and backpacks? Do we really agree to a somehow-legally-binding agreement when we buy a ticket? Should we instantly dismiss the people who argue that we pay $9 for the privilege of viewing a movie, not for the privilege of buying a bucket of popcorn for $7.50 that only costs the movie theater $0.25 (for bucket, kernels, butter, salt, labor, equipment, and electricity)?
    I’m not trying to downplay your argument that watching bootleg movies is wrong and that we shouldn’t do it. Because it IS wrong, and we SHOULDN’T do it. But where you do you draw the line between following the rules because it’s the right thing to do and following the rules so somebody/some entity can exploit you and your wallet?

    • That’s a great question Chris! But is it stealing to bring in your own candy? No, I don’t think so. I think it’s breaking the rules, and I suppose you are taking money out of their hands, but I really don’t think it’s the same thing. It’s breaking the rules to be sure, but you aren’t watching the movie for free.

Leave a Reply

 
