Seated on the low stool…..

OK, I’m stealing this from another blog. Not because I’m that desperate for new material, not because I’m lazy, but because I needed this a few days ago, and it is really relevant. For the record, I stole this quote from Adri Szewczyk and her post “Why must we suffer?

Now, for any of you who have followed me on Face Book, you know how rough the last two years have been for my family. First my Father In Law died, then I was out on disability for 3 1/2 months of excruciating pain with my back, and then we almost lost my wife in October. Aside from medical, both my wife and I have been in extremely hostile work environments, resulting in one of us having to change jobs, and the other one almost losing their job, but being saved by a mass mutiny by everyone else at the office when the drama got too heavy….. It’s been rough, and it has sucked.

In her post , Ms. Szewczyk quoted Padre Pio from  excerpt from Padre Pio: The True Story by C. Bernard Ruffin. In her post she says “Saint Pio of Pietrelcina, or Padre Pio as many call him, used the example below to explain our inability to understand the reasoning behind our hardships. and goes on to quote Padre Pio.

There’s a woman who is embroidering. Her son, seated on a low stool, sees the work, but in reverse. He sees the knots of the embroidery, the tangled threads…He says, ‘Mother, what are you doing? I can’t make out what you are doing!’ Then the mother lowers the embroidery hoop and shows the good part of the work. Each color is in place and the various threads form a harmonious design. So, we see the reverse side of the embroidery because we are seated on the low stool.

WOW. Is it just me, or is that so beautiful in it’s simplicity, that it’s almost insane? It doesn’t give me the answers as to why the Cajun Princess and I have had such hardships this year and last, but it gives me a notion that despite what I might think, despite what I may feel, that ultimately, God knows what he is doing, and try though we may, we will never understand his ways, or his motives. It is all we can do to trust in him, and tell him we love him.

 

Lord, help me to trust in you, and not ask so many questions…..


~ by keystone28 on 01/08/2011.

One Response to “Seated on the low stool…..”

  1. It sounds like you have had a very difficult 2 years. If there is one thing I’ve learned from reading about Padre Pio’s life, it is that he viewed suffering as a gift. This is a concept I struggle with, but I’m trying to trust more in the Lord, too.

    You and your family will be in my prayers. God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

 
