Journaling vs. Blogging….

journal(1:) an account of day-to-day events (2:) a record of experiences, ideas, or reflections kept regularly for private use

blog – a Web site that contains an online personal journal with reflections, comments, and often hyperlinks provided by the writer

I have kept a journal since an old artist-type girlfriend 26 years ago handed me my first cheap, black sketch book and told me to write whatever came into my mind. That summer -my first and only spent living in Chicago- I went through 3 of those sketch books, writing what I was doing, what I wanted to, drawing really bad sketches, ranting and raving about the government, just about anything I could think of. Over the years I have kept them through thick and thin, good times and bad times, and it’s really interesting to go back and peruse them every now and then, albeit painful and embarrassing to see how naive and foolish I once was.

But when I got into blogging, my journaling started to fall by the way side. It seemed to be just another chore, and so instead of filling up 3 books in one summer, I almost filled one journal in 5 years. Recently, I have been blogging -in various forms and under assorted names- for the better part of 6 years or so now, and I’ve got one stark realization; I miss my journal.

But I do love blogging too, so I’ve decided to be dilligent about both of them. I’m wondering though; How am I going to find time to do both?  I’m guessing that my style of journaling is going to have to change. Instead of being an extension of this blog or my other one , my journal will just be those things I just don’t feel comfortable enough about sharing with the public. I’ve been thinking for a while now that I need a spiritual advisor, that I have these things I need to talk about, but I feel like I’m being a whinny little baby if I waste someone else’s time with them, you know? So maybe my journal can help with that.

Does anyone else keep a journal? A book of personal intentions maybe? Does anyone have suggestions or thoughts they’d like to share?? Let me know. I’d be really interested in what you’ve got to say.

~ by keystone28 on 12/31/2010.

One Response to “Journaling vs. Blogging….”

  1. I journal quite a bit, jotting in leather bound ruled notebooks using my favorite black pen. I pause almost every evening to explore what is on my mind, relieving stress and allowing for a creative medium to place my thoughts. I even carry my journal around with me, sometimes I just have to get something out, express myself where I know it is safe to do so. I never share my journal entries with others – they are private. My journals are filled with taped in photos, Chinese fortune cookie papers, post-it love notes, beer coasters and the like: impressions, thoughts, and dreams accompany each tangible entry. I find journaling relieves stress and allows me another creative outlet, a spiritual place for reflection. I keep all my journals and occasionally go back and read one, vividly recalling some painful or beautiful moment from my past. As one can imagine, “what was I thinking” is a phrase that I often mutter. I am getting my MBA and just this week had to create a blog. I do find it difficult to think others will read my thoughts but there also seems to be great anonymity. I’ve made the site for class and am not sure I will keep it active but I’ll withhold judgement for now. Feel free to provide me some comments at http://featsofinspiration.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

 
