A Franciscan Benediction
Anonymous

May God bless you with discomfort at easy answers, half truths, and superficial relationships, so that you may live deep within your heart.

May God bless you with anger at injustice, oppression and exploitation of people, so that you may work for justice, freedom and peace.

May God bless you with tears to shed for those who suffer from pain, rejection, starvation and war, so that you may reach out your hand to comfort them and to turn their pain into joy.

And may God bless you with enough foolishness to believe that you can make a difference in this world, so that you can do what others claim cannot be done.

I like this prayer, I really do, I just wish I could remember it when I need to! How is it that I’m so selfish? So cold? I’m ashamed to even call myself “Franciscan” in any manner of the word! Earlier today, we had a customer who wanted some fliers printed; They were for a nightclub, and they had an image of a half naked woman on them a package of condoms, and something about b*tches…. I didn’t take long enough to read what it was for, but instead, distanced myself from the job, as I found it repugnant. A coworker remarked that I was too sensitive, that she didn’t care what we printed, so long as money was rolling in. I argued for chastity, humility and women in general. Don’t you think it’s terrible that he demeans women like that? I said, Don’t you care that men treat women badly?….And then…….*SIGH*, Then I stuck my size 13 in my mouth. ….Don’t you care that this guy treats women as badly as that guy treated you? I knew the moment it fell from my lips, it was the wrong thing to say. My friend had been raped a few years ago, and the court battle is still underway, and I wasn’t trying to offend her, I was just trying to make my point, that it’s wrong to treat women any way other than honorably, but it was too late. I apologized profusely when she would finally talk to me,and she accepted my apology and explanation, but I could tell, I had hurt her, and I *HATE* that.

How did I go so wrong? I started with best of intentions!……*SIGH* Me and my big old, numb, insensitive foot.

~ by keystone28 on 05/27/2010.

One Response to “”

  1. OOOps. Comments on top, near the title. My bad. I left a comment about this post in the wrong place but I guess you will get the idea!

Leave a Reply

 
