Moving Pictures….

I don’t know about you, but I love me some Padre Pio, and this video has brought tears to me eyes recently. I have been giving a lot of thought on what I want from my life, what I ought to be doing for myself, my wife and my sons, and also about what I ought to be removing from my life, and the simple love in Padre Pio’s face stirs me to action. I so badly want to remove sin from my life, deny the temptation, and fight the good fight. But “the enemy” -if I may be allowed to steal from Lewis- is constantly on the prowl, and sometimes it’s hard to avoid him. I avert my eyes, I hold my tongue, I reach out, but still he lurks in the corners, like a sullen cat. But then I watch this, and it all seems to be so flimsy, his arguements so baseless and weak

I also watched Zeffirelli’s “Brother Sun, Sister Moon” Saturday, and I have to say it found it’s way into my heart. It’s just wonderful that, after spending so many years being bad, filled with lust, avarice and anger, living in the dark ,that now, as I  find my way into the sun through simple movements.

~ by keystone28 on 05/10/2010.

2 Responses to “Moving Pictures….”

  1. Brother, that we wre already like little children! It would be easy then, wouldn’t it? It is because we are so smart, strong and ‘good’ that WE make things so difficult for ourselves. Padre Pio, St. Francis – Jesus Himself – were like little children. Humility, meekness, purity, faith, love – open the door, make the way easy and bring us all good. I pray for you, and myself, that God would help us find the child within that He loves so much. Your brother in Christ and fellow disciple of Francis of Assisi!

  2. Thank you for your kind words Brother! Back when i hit that proverbial low-spot in the road of life, the one where you take stock of yourself and what you are lacking, I would say that the person i was then, was not who I really am. I always considered myself that young kid who was happy, full of life so optimistic.

    But you cant go back, can you? Moreover, would I really want to? I can be so much more useful with what I know today, what I can do to change the world today!

    But it would be nice, wouldn’t it?

Leave a Reply

 
