Tolerance…..

I like to think that I’m a pretty tolerable guy, maybe not the most tolerable mind you, but I have friends that pretty much run the gambit of personality types when I think about it. My Facebook page reads like the U.N. of Facebook pages; Brother in laws, neighbors, cousins, 82nd Airborne Officers, Priests, Nuns, WWII re-enactors, Old punk rock/industrial friends, ex-girlfriends, militant lesbians, the list goes on and on. The one thing I have in common with them all is that I love them dearly, and (for the most part) I like hearing from them.

But what I cannot tolerate is when they make fun of my beliefs, insult my faith. Such was the case earlier today, when I posted a video of Padre Pio’s incorrupt body. Someone who I had initially hesitated to add a a friend immediately wrote something about him and an altar boy. This, is in no way acceptable, and I refuse to allow it to slide for any reason at all. I deleted the remark and removed that person from my friends list. I did not write her or tell her why I was taking her off my list, but if she happens to write and query why I removed her (I doubt that will happen), I’ll tell her.

There are opportunities to teach those ignorant of what our faith truly is, and those moments should be embraced, savored for the chances they bring to inform and educate, but this was simply not one of those moments. Was I wrong? Should I have left the offending remark stay, and let this woman run the risk of incurring the wrath of my Catholic friends on Facebook? Maybe they would have explained to her how very special someone like Padre Pio is to us, and that her jokes were not in the least bit funny, maybe she would have learned something that could have changed her life! So did I do the right thing, the wrong thing, or the proud thing (which, is also the wrong thing)??

~ by keystone28 on 05/04/2010.

2 Responses to “Tolerance…..”

  1. Peace brother! If someone spit on a picture of Christ crucified, wouldn’t you wipe off the spit? I think that, if it lies within our power to affirm what is good and right and undo, in small part at least, a wrong then we should. I really appreciated the questions you ask at the end. Every experience is an opportunity to grow in our understanding of faith and Jesus’ love. We should question ourselves, allow God to challenge us, and strive with love to get ourselves more securely in the middle of that very narrow path. A final note: Jesus said, ‘Do not throw your pearls before swine’ meaning (I believe) do not offer the gems of your faith to those who cannot and will not appreciate them. However, at the same time we must always reach out in love to those around us – no matter how heartless, insentive, crude and cruel they can be. That is what our Lord Jesus did from the cross and, of course, He said, ‘follow me!’

  2. I think you were absolutely right. There is fun, and there is funny, and then there is crossing the line–and you know where your facebook “Friend’s” words fit in.
    But I think you might want to reach out to the person who posted that kind of remark, because there is an opportunity to allow her to grow.

Leave a Reply

 
