Teeny tiny monkey wrenches…

A new day dawns; I wake up at 5:30 AM every morning. I need to wake up at 5:00 AM actually, and do my prayers then and there, but things being what they are (meaning I stay up too late), I get up at 5:30. Usually, things flow freely, but this morning, the opposition is trying to gum up the works.

It’s all very trivial, things that hardly matter, but this morning they are annoying me. I forgot my cell phone at home (the one I  use for work), I have some really self absorbed coworkers who cant seem to “man up” to their responsibilities, and instead lay everything on the rest of us. You know, things I feel guilty for getting worked up over.

I guess I need to admit that what is really bothering me, is four kids in my oldest sons class are teasing him about his name, and apparently, he is so unhappy, that he doesnt want to go to school there any more. I keep telling him to ignore them, to play with his friend who is also in our Cub Scout Den, but these four boys constantly harangue him. I am angry, I want to tell him that they are the ones with funny names, that their parents gave them goofy names, not the other way around. What kind of name is Tirese anyway? Why is he making my sons life miserable? How dare he? I have gone into surly, lumbering, grizzly bear mode, and so it has all eeked out into other parts of my life .

I pray for strength, I pray for an end to this vapid, cruel eight year old taunting, I wonder if it’s my fault for caring too much, for taking part in his life, instead of just letting him do what he wants. I know we are raising our sons the right way, but right now, this very instant, I find it to be really hard not to be angry, and so i find myself wanting to be in the solitude of my Parish’ chapel, alone in the dark, a few rays of light shining through…..Quiet….solitude…peace.

~ by keystone28 on 03/09/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
