I must be doing something right!

I have always been a believer, maybe not as steadfast as the Knights of the Holy Grail, but so long as I’ve been Catholic, I’ve believed in the Body and Blood. But today, oh mercy me, today the Eucharist came alive for me. I wasn’t even on the list to serve, but I figured that since I was already dressed up (and since my wife had volunteered me), that I’d help out.

Now I’ve had some leaps of faith recently; Leaps that have found me closer to the Lord than I think I ever have been, leaps that have found me laying my soul and all my inequities bare and open to the Lord. These things were a long time coming, almost 30 years over due, and getting rid of those stones tied to my back have really opened my eyes.

Anyway,as Father was presenting everyone with their cups, I stood intently, and looking into my chalice. No kidding here folks, the wine took on a darker red color, darker than I’ve ever seen, and the reflections in the wine from the lights took on a golden twinkle. It couldn’t have been more than a few moments that passed, but I knew, right then and there, that I was holding the blood of Christ in my hands. It was so obvious to me, that I actually started to cry.

Honestly folks, I’ve never had such a profound experience in all of my life! It was there, it was real, and it was for me…..How cool of a Valentine days gift is that!?!

~ by keystone28 on 02/14/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
