Preach it Brother L, preach it.

I wonder how many TV executives sweat it out every year, when this comes on? I really wish more people would take the time to watch this, and maybe reflect upon it with their children.

We are so inundated by so many secular “holiday” shows these days; Lifetime network has at least 3 new ones a day it seems! Everyone has new “Holiday” mascots it seems, yet none of them reflect the true meaning of the season like Linus does. In that One minute and seventeen seconds worth of airtime, we hear the good news, and are given all the reason we need to be glad for the day and even for all time! What a wonderful gift! What a magnificent and simplistic presentation! There is no need for anything more, save for the words MERRY CHRISTMAS!! Dont you think? It is a simple, minute long gesture, and the season should be so! Simple gestures, helping a stranger, holding a door for someone, a simple smile, a moment of earnest prayer..

This is one of my favorite (of course) Christmas stories, and I thought I’d share it with you. “By Christmas, 1956, Father Solanus was extremely weak. A novice recalled his last Christmas. “Christmas evening, I was on my way to community recreation and stopped in the friary chapel for a visit to the Blessed Sacrament. While kneeling there, I heard a familiar squeaky noise coming from the larger church (attached to the friary chapel), which I immediately knew was Father Solanus playing his violin. I wanted to see the sight, however, and so opened the door from the friary chapel to the main church. There I saw Father Solanus alone in the choir loft playing Christmas carols on his violin and singing them to the Christ Child.”

Such a simple, beautiful gesture, lets make more of them, shall we?

~ by keystone28 on 12/15/2009.

2 Responses to “Preach it Brother L, preach it.”

  1. I always cry when I hear Linus’ simple and beautiful reading of the gospel, even back when I was in my cups. I am humbled reflecting on myself for getting caught up in the rush of the “things to do” during Christmas time. The birth of Christ Jesus is the reason for the season and we must pass this truth on to our children.

  2. AMEN!

    I too am left in tears over the Charlie Brown Christmas. (And the Grinch, too. “Maybe Christmas…doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas…means a little bit more.”)

    This is why, on Christmas Eve at the big family party, the Gospel story from Luke is read BEFORE Santa comes with the presents.

Leave a Reply

 
