Gospel
Mt 11:28-30

Jesus said to the crowds:
“Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened,
and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,
for I am meek and humble of heart;
and you will find rest for yourselves.
For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”

So, how come w don’t do this more? We say we will, we proclaim that it shall be so, yet we cling to the little pesky bits of imperfection and bother that keep us from being better people than we currently are. My wife and I were at Target this past Friday, and as we were leaving the parking deck, a woman in the other lane, waved a car or two out. You know, it’s an attempt to get into the Christmas spirit right? Be kind to others and all that. Well the woman behind her starts to scream and honk her horn, and gesture with her hands-especially her middle finger- at the kindly woman. The other woman proceeds to get out of her car and curse the other woman out for no other reason, save for the fact that she let people out into traffic. While I am watching this unfold I notice the womans Current Student Parking sticker….Let us hope she had just bought the car from someone else and it was not her sticker!

Now, I bet you think I’m talking about the woman who was screaming and cursing at the other motorist, don’t you? WRONG!! While she clearly needs to relax, I cant say what her problem was for sure, so she gets a free pass, due to unknown circumstances (We’ll pray for her though). No, I meant the other woman, the motorist who, in the face of conflict, wrath and anger showed charity, by simply waving, saying sorry, and “Merry Christmas!” as she was berated for being a considerate person. Why can’t we all practice that a little more? Instead of turning a grim face towards a customer who needs a little attention at work, why cant we just face them with a hearty smile? When I am performing my duties as a Eucharistic minister, I strive to meet everyone with a smile as I offer them the body and blood of Christ, because it is a joyous occasion, don’t you think? You are being invited to take part in a moment of pure love and cleansing of your soul, what’s not to be happy about? In that same frame of mind, you are alive, and things could always be sooo much worse, why not greet every person with a smile and try to bring joy into their world?

“Love means loving the unlovable – or it is no virtue at all.” G.K. Chesterton

~ by keystone28 on 12/13/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
