SolanusCaseyWorry is a weakness from which very few of us are entirely free. We must be on guard against this most  insidious enemy of our peace of soul. Instead, let us foster confidence in God, and thank Him ahead of time for whatever He chooses to send us.”                                Venerable Solanus Casey (1870-1957)

 

I love me some Franciscans; it seems as if my life revolves around them. My parish is run by Franciscans, my wife and I were married on the day Fr. Solanus died, my youngest son was born on the Transitus of St. Francis, the “Franciscan connection” it would seem, is to be prevalent in my life. That’s fine with me, I can’t think of a finer group to be associated with!

 

But I have a special place in my heart for dear Father Solanus.  he took what life gave him, made it his own, and thanked no one but God for it. He was content to be whatever the Lord wanted him to be, and nothing more. I often wonder why I have no more ambitions than the scant few I already have, and it worries me that I am being apathetic, that I am giving up too easily. Maybe I need to worry less…..

~ by keystone28 on 11/04/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
